OFWNurse 101: How to Become a HAAD-RN (Basics)

Disclaimer: Information in this blog is based on data I have mostly acquired in the web and from my own experiences, I may or may not include some details that are wholly accurate or updated, if you have any concerns and corrections please feel free to contact me.

Let’s face it. Sometimes we tend to want the HAAD license just because we saw our Facebook friend take this exam or we heard that one of our co worker passed it and therefore we too, could not wait to take it. I think it is important to know first what  you are getting yourself into and what is the HAAD examination and license is. These are the things I myself wished I had known before starting:

  • HAAD is the regulative body of the healthcare sector in Abu Dhabi. The PRC and the DOH combined are the equivalent of this in the Philippines.
  • You can obtain 4 licenses in UAE dependent on the location of your work:
    • HAAD License, granted by Health Authority Abu Dhabi for positions in Abu Dhabi and Al Ain
    • DHA License, granted by Dubai Health Authority for positions in Dubai
    • MOH License, granted by the Ministry of Health for positions in Sharjah, Ajman, Fujairah, Umm al Quwain or Ras Al Khaimah
    • DHCC License, for positions in Dubai Healthcare City

With that said, if you are NOT looking to work in Abu Dhabi and Al Ain, you shouldn’t continue with this exam. Yes, there is the so called unification of license in UAE where they say that one license is good enough for all the emirates. But it just means that you can convert one license from the other (e.g. HAAD to DHA). Six months of work experience in UAE is required to convert, with additional fees and other paperworks. (Believe me, this I KNOW).

  • PQR means Professional Qualification Requirement, in simple terms, these are the requirements for you to be eligible to obtain the license. ALL of these requirements should be met to start the process.
  • Dataflow is a company independent of HAAD. They are responsible for the Primary Source Verification or PSV. In other words, they make sure your documents are authentic and not ‘Recto-made’.
  • The steps you have to go through in sequence are Data Flow , Pre Licensing, Examination Booking, Examination, Facility Hunting and Licensing.

Forum talk is difficult to understand sometimes. Most of the time, I did not understand what they are talking about. Most common acronyms are DF (dataflow), CAV (certification, authentication and verification) and PL (prelicensing).

  • The so called ‘facility’ are the hospitals, clinics, medical center or home care institutes. Basically, they are the employers.
  • There are agencies that offer assistance in the processing of Data Flow and HAAD license like NEAC. But if you do have an internet connection and a computer (in my case I even go to computer shops), my advise is to be a self applicant, you will save thousands of pesos.
  • Don’t resign from work just yet. This process take months, sometimes a year and you would not want your working gap to be longer than necessary.

Next: HAADNurse 102: How to Become a HAAD-RN (PQR)

3 thoughts on “OFWNurse 101: How to Become a HAAD-RN (Basics)

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi. I would like to ask about booking a haad exam. I was trying to book for my exam but the farthest date I have seen in the website is May 30, 2017. I was approved last April 11, 2017. I wanted to book at least last week of June. What am I going to do? Am I going to wait for that date to open or should I just book that May 30 date? Thanks and hope you can help me on this.

    Like

    • sheenaamor says:

      Hi! Based on my experience, exam schedules to a certain date only opens at most a month before. So maybe your preferred date will be opened by the end of May. But if I should advise you, you cannot really set a fixed date, because booking for an examination is sometimes a matter of luck. Being deligent on regularly checking available schedule will also help greatly, of course. If you started your review process right after you are approved, you should take the exam on May 30, in my opinion. The exam is not that difficult really, compared to the NLE and if you had been reviewing religiously, it’ll be enough. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

